top of page

THE NIGERWIFE

Available Now!

Effortlessly elegant prose

BERNARDINE EVARISTO

2019 Booker Prize Winner for Girl, Woman, Other

THE NIGERWIFE

by Vanessa Walters

This twisty and electrifying debut novel about a young woman who goes missing in Lagos, Nigeria, and her estranged auntie who will stop at nothing to find the truth is perfect for fans of My Sister, the Serial Killer and The Last Thing He Told Me.

Nicole Oruwari has the perfect life: a handsome husband, a palatial house in the heart of glittering Lagos, Nigeria, and a glamorous group of friends. She left gloomy London and a dark family past behind for sunny, moneyed Lagos, becoming part of the Nigerwives—a community of foreign women married to Nigerian men.

But when Nicole disappears without a trace after a boat trip, the cracks in her so-called perfect life start to show. As the investigation turns up nothing but dead ends, her Auntie Claudine decides to take matters into her own hands. Armed with only a cell phone and a plane ticket to Nigeria, she digs into her niece’s life and uncovers a hidden side filled with dark secrets, isolation, and even violence. But the more she discovers about her niece, the more Claudine’s own buried history threatens to come to light.

An inventively told and keenly observant thriller where nothing is as it seems, The Nigerwife is a razor-sharp look at the bonds of family, the echoing consequences of secrets, and whether we can ever truly outrun our past.

front book vw.png
GMA logo.png
hbo logo.png

|

GMA website.png
About

Author, Screenwriter, Playwright, Creative Writing Tutor, Literary Activist  

Vanessa Walters was born and raised in London and has a background in international journalism and playwriting and is a Tin House resident and a Millay Colony resident. She is the author of two previous YA books and The Nigerwife.

She currently lives in Brooklyn.

  • Instagram
  • clubhouse icon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok
VANESSA-WALTERS4797.jpg

In the News

Atria gets hitched.png
Other Work

We don’t have any products to show here right now.

Events

No events at the moment
Events
Contact
bottom of page